The main difference between gluten free and wheat free is that the gluten-free food is for people suffering from celiac disease, gluten intolerance, Crohn’s disease, Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS), and bloating whereas the wheat-free food is for people suffering from wheat allergy.
Gluten-free and wheat-free are two types of foods classified based on their composition. Both are recommended for people who develop allergic conditions to these components. However, note that the gluten-free food does not contain wheat while the wheat-free food can contain gluten from other sources of it.
Key Areas Covered
1. What is Gluten Free
– Definition, Composition, Diseases
2. What is Wheat Free
– Definition, Composition, Diseases
3. What are the Similarities Between Gluten Free and Wheat Free
– Outline of Common Features
4. What is the Difference Between Gluten Free and Wheat Free
– Comparison of Key Differences
Gluten, Gluten-Free, Gluten Intolerance, Wheat-Free, Wheat Intolerance
What is Gluten Free
Gluten-free is a type of food free of gluten. Gluten is a plant protein produced by the plants in the tribe Triticeae including wheat, rye, barley, etc. It gives elasticity to yeast-based dough. Some people may develop allergic reactions to gluten, celiac disease, Crohn’s disease, Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS), etc. while bloating and gas are the other problems associated with gluten. These people have to avoid wheat as well since it contains gluten. Therefore, all gluten-free products are wheat-free as well.
Celiac disease is a serious illness in which the immune system of the body attacks the body tissues in the presence of gluten. It damages the lining of the small intestine; hence, one cannot absorb nutrients. This disease occurs per one in 100 people in UK. Gluten intolerance is the second common problem of gluten. It is also called non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Approximately, 6% of the people in the world suffer from gluten intolerance.
What is Wheat Free
Wheat-fee food refer to food that is free of wheat. It is for people who develop wheat intolerance or wheat sensitivity. Whet intolerance is also an autoimmune reaction developed for wheat proteins. It is characterized by swelling of the throat, nasal congestion, difficulty in breathing, hives, itchy skin, watery eyes, cramps, nausea and possibly anaphylaxis. Generally, wheat intolerance occurs in infants but, it can also be a lifelong problem.
Importantly, people who develop allergies to wheat proteins are not allergic to gluten. Therefore, these people can take other gluten sources apart from wheat. Wheat intolerance is a relatively rare disease in the world.
Similarities Between Gluten Free and Wheat Free
- Gluten-free and wheat-free are two types of foods with different compositions.
- Some examples of both gluten- and wheat-free products are corn, potato, rice, soybeans, buckwheat, millet, sorghum, chickpea, lentils, and tapioca.
Difference Between Gluten Free and Wheat Free
Gluten-free refers to food that does not contain gluten while wheat-free refers to food that does not contain wheat or wheat products. This is the basic difference between gluten free and wheat free.
An important difference between gluten free and wheat free is that gluten-free products do not contain wheat while wheat-free products may contain gluten.
Gluten can cause celiac disease, gluten intolerance, Crohn’s disease, Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS), and bloating while wheat can cause wheat intolerance.
Moreover, gluten-based disorders are somewhat common while wheat-based disorders are rare.
In brief, gluten-free food is free of gluten, a plant protein produced by a group of grass. Gluten causes disorders in some people including celiac disease and gluten intolerance. On the other hand, wheat-free food is free of wheat since some people develop a wheat intolerance. The main difference between gluten free and wheat free is the composition of each food.
1. “Gluten-Free Diet: What’s Allowed, What’s Not.” Mayo Clinic, Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research, 23 Nov. 2017, Available Here
2. “Wheat Allergy.” ACAAI Public Website, 16 May 2018, Available Here