The main difference between potato vodka and grain vodka is that potato is more flavorful than grain vodka and is free of gluten and sugar.
Vodka is one of the most versatile alcohols and we can make it with various ingredients. To manufacture vodka, manufacturers only need to ferment any food product that contains starch or sugar. Then they distil this product to increase the alcohol content. Furthermore, manufacturers use rye, wheat, corn, barley, fruits, potatoes, sugar, etc., to produce vodka. Of these, potatoes and grains are two of the most common ingredients manufacturers use in vodka distillation.
Key Areas Covered
1. What is Potato Vodka
– Definition, Features
2. What is Grain Vodka
– Definition, Features
3. Similarities Between Potato Vodka and Grain Vodka
– Outline of Common Features
4. Difference Between Potato Vodka and Grain Vodka
– Comparison of Key Differences
Potato Vodka, Grain Vodka, Vodka
What is Potato Vodka
Potato vodka, as its name suggests, is vodka made with potatoes. Most people consider it as the most flavorful of all vodka varieties. It is also sugar-free, gluten-free, and contains only a very low amount of carbohydrates. This is why most people say that potato vodka is healthier than grain vodka. Since potato vodka has more flavor, it’s traditionally served straight or over ice. Also, keeping potato vodka in the freezer makes it extra smooth. Moreover, concerning the brands, Chopin Potato Vodka, Luksusowa Vodka, Leopold Bros Silver Tree Vodka, Blue Ice Potato Vodka, and Boyd & Blair Potato Vodka are some popular potato vodka brands.
Potato vodka production involves four main steps: fermentation, distillation, filtration, and dilution. In the first step, the mashed potatoes with yeast go through a fermentation process to create alcohol. Then, in the next step, distillation and filtration purify and remove unwanted elements from the alcohol. It also increases the ABV (alcohol by volume) content of the vodka. Finally, by adding water, the alcohol is diluted.
What is Grain Vodka
Grain vodka is a type of vodka made from grains like rye, wheat, corn, and barley. But, grain vodka is not as flavorful as potato vodka. In fact, corn vodka is the least flavorful of all grain vodka types. Therefore, we often use grain vodka in mixed drinks and cocktails. Of course, they blend with any flavor and sometimes enhance the flavor of the mixer. Grey Goose, Svedka, Beluga, and Absolut are some popular brands of grain vodka.
Unlike potato vodka, all types of grain vodka contain gluten and sugar. Therefore, if you are looking for a gluten-free drink, grain vodka is not for you.
Similarities Between Potato Vodka and Grain Vodka
- Both types of vodka undergo the same production process.
- They go through four steps: fermentation, distillation, dilution, and filtration.
- All vodka must have a minimum ABV of 40% (in the US).
- Moreover, they are available in different price ranges.
Difference Between Potato Vodka and Grain Vodka
Potato vodka, as its name suggests, is vodka made with potatoes, while grain vodka is vodka made with grains.
While potato vodka is made with potatoes, grain vodka is made with grains like rye, barley, wheat, and corn.
Potato vodka is the most flavorful of all types of vodka, but grain vodka is not as flavorful as potato vodka.
Moreover, potato vodka is gluten-free and sugar-free, whereas grain vodka is not.
In brief, potatoes and grains are two of the most common ingredients manufacturers use in vodka distillation. The main difference between potato vodka and grain vodka is that potato is more flavorful than grain vodka and is free of gluten and sugar.
1. Darling, Georgie. “15 Best Vodkas in the World: The Brands to Drink (2022 Updated).” Luxe Digital, 1 Feb. 2022.
2. “What Vodka Is Made from Potatoes?” Total Wine & More.
1. “Luksusowa Vodka 1.75mL bottle” By Kenneth C. Zirkel – Own work (CC BY-SA 4.0) via Commons Wikimedia
2. “2017 – New Pack Keglevich Dry” By Alessandra Giannino – Own work (CC BY-SA 4.0) via Commons Wikimedia